src="https://www.facebook.com/tr?id=302010520734544&ev=PageView&noscript=1" ... ...

What is a no-fault or uncontested divorce?

A no fault divorce, also known as an irreconcilable differences divorce, occurs when both spouses agree to the divorce and its terms. In this variety of divorce, neither spouse has to prove that the other did something wrong. The process to complete a no-fault divorce is not messy or drug out. In fact, it can be finalized in just 60 days upon the filing of the joint complaint for divorce.

What is a fault-based divorce?

A fault-based divorce, or a contested divorce, is filed when one spouse requests a divorce based on some fault of the other. The fault claimed by the filing spouse must fit into the grounds for your state and must be able to be proven in court.

A no-fault divorce can be a simple and low cost way to get a divorce in just about two months. These can be finalized in just 60 days after filing the joint complaint for divorce.

How to get a fault-based contested divorce:

Grounds for a fault-based divorce differ from state to state.

Grounds for contested divorce in Mississippi:

In order to file a contested divorce in the state of Mississippi, you must claim one or more of the state’s 12 grounds. You must prove that your spouse:

  • is naturally impotent
  • committed adultery
  • is sentenced to any jail or prison without pardon
  • deserts you for one year
  • is habitually drunk
  • excessively and habitually uses opium, morphine or other similar drugs
  • habitually treats you in a cruel and inhuman way, including domestic abuse
  • had a mental illness or intellectual disability at the time of your marriage and you did not know
  • was already married to someone else when you wed
  • was pregnant by someone else when you got married and you did not know
  • is related to you
  • is incurably mentally ill

Grounds for contested divorce in Tennessee:

In the state of Tennessee, you must be able to show that your spouse:

  • is naturally impotent and incapable of procreation
  • committed adultery
  • is sentenced to any state penitentiary
  • deserts you for one year
  • refuses to move to Tennessee and has been apart from you in Tennessee for two years
  • is habitually drunk
  • abandons you and refuses to care for you while having the means to do so
  • excessively and habitually uses opium, morphine, or other similar drugs
  • habitually treats you in a cruel and inhuman way, including domestic abuse
  • attempts to take your life
  • was already married to someone else when you “married” each other
  • was pregnant by someone else when you got married and you did not know about the pregnancy

VIDEO: Learn more about no fault divorce 

How do I protect myself, my children and my assets in any form of divorce?

While sometimes it is possible to reach decisions about child support, custody, and asset division through negotiation or mediation, it is not always the norm. If you and your spouse cannot come to an agreement on these things, it is crucial to hire an attorney who is experienced in family law and will put you first.

Mississippi and Tennessee divorce Lawyer

If you have any additional questions or need a divorce attorney in the states of Mississippi or Tennessee, contact attorney Amy Pietrowski.

Continue reading: 

How to Legally Change Your Name in MS

How to Legally Change Your Name in MS

How to legally change your name in Mississippi Your name is a big part of your identity, so it is important to understand the process if you ever need to change it. Depending on the scenario, it can be a relatively simple process, especially if you plan to change your...

read more