How Will An Assault Charge Affect Me?
Put simply, an assault is a physical attack. Under Mississippi and Tennessee law, there are two different categories of assault with which one can be charged. Each of these charges is very serious and requires representation by an aggressive attorney.
What is simple or general assault?
The first type of assault under Mississippi and Tennessee law is called simple or general assault. This form of assault usually involves a minor injury or limited threat of violence. It generally involves slapping, minor fist fighting, hair pulling or something of that nature. While simple assault is serious, it does not usually involve serious bodily injury.
“Whether you’ve been charged with simple or aggravated assault,
you should take these charges serious.”
Consequences of a simple assault conviction
Under the law, a simple assault is a misdemeanor. The potential sentence for a first instance of simple assault in Mississippi is 6 months in jail and a $500 fine.
In Tennessee, a general assault conviction can involve up to a 1-year prison sentence and fines up to $2,500.
There are enhanced penalties if the simple assault is committed against a family member. This is known as domestic simple assault or, more commonly, domestic violence. There are also enhanced penalties if you are charged with simple assault or domestic simple assault several times.
What is felony or aggravated assault?
Felony assault is referred to as aggravated assault and involves serious bodily injury to the victim. Aggravated assault is often committed with a weapon or another object being used as a weapon.
Examples of aggravated assault include severely beating someone, shooting someone, stabbing someone or running someone over with your car.
Consequences of an aggravated assault conviction
Even if a weapon is not used, aggravated assault is one of the most serious criminal charges and can bring serious jail time and fines. And, if a weapon is used, the potential for jail time becomes even greater. In Mississippi, the maximum jail time for an aggravated assault charge is 20 years. If it’s committed against a family member, that rises to 30 years.
In Tennessee, depending on whether the assault is considered intentional or reckless, those convicted of aggravated assault can face up to 12 or 15 years in prison. In addition to jail time and fines, if you are a gun owner, you can lose your right to possess that gun if convicted of certain assault charges.
What should I do if I’m charged with assault?
Whether you’ve been charged with simple or aggravated assault, you should take these charges serious. You need an aggressive criminal defense attorney to tell your side of the story, keep you out of jail and protect all your rights. Amy Pietrowski is an experienced attorney that is prepared to fight your assault case in Mississippi or Tennessee. Contact attorney Amy Pietrowski to ensure your rights and freedoms are protected.