Fight the DUI!

What now? Know your rights! Call 662-841-2692.

Oxford’s DUI Lawyer in your corner.

If you have been charged with DUI for the first time, it is important that you retain the services of a skilled Mississippi DUI lawyer right away. Taking action quickly to fight back against charges could make a significant difference in the outcome of your case. Fighting a DUI charge requires legal knowledge and the ability to make a convincing argument.

A DUI is a crime and beating the charge requires legal expertise that only a DUI attorney possesses. Retaining Pietrowski Law Practice is worth it because DUI laws are complex and penalties associated with conviction are steep. Attempting to defend oneself in court can be frustrating, unnerving, and often results in conviction. Letting a DUI lawyer take charge of the situation by presenting a strong defense turns the tables.

Why Hire Pietrowski Law Practice.

DUI’s can cost you without the right legal help.

Mississippi DUI and DWI’s

In Mississippi, you’ll face penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol from the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the court.

A DUI is a serious offense and carries harsh penalties in Mississippi. Along with risking your life and the lives of other drivers, you may face driver’s license revocations, jail time, and heavy fines.

On this page you’ll find information about the definitions of a DUI in Mississippi, some of the common penalties you may face, and some of the steps you may need to take to reinstate your driver’s license.

Mississippi DUI Definitions

You will likely receive a DUI in Mississippi if you are arrested for driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of:

  • At least 0.08%.
    OR
  • At least 0.02%, if you are younger than 21 years old.

While those are the legal BAC limits, you may still receive a DUI or alcohol-related driving offense for driving with a BAC that is lower than the legal limits above. Your penalties will be determined by your court.

DUI Penalties in Mississippi

Driving under the influence of alcohol comes with penalties from both the court and the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS).

Your penalties will depend on the severity of your DUI offense, if you have previous DUI charges, and your driving history. The Department of Public Safety can use Administrative laws to punish you and the courts can use criminal law.

1st offense

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver’s license suspension: Minimum of 90 days with completed MASEP*
  • License reinstatement fee: $175.
  • Ignition interlock for restricted driver’s license.
  • Financial responsibility (SR 22) filed for 3 years.

Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program or MASEP is a required program for 1st time DUI offenders. You are allowed to enroll in the course after you receive a non-adjucated or conviction for your 1st DUI. To enroll call (662) 325-3423. The MASEP program fee is $200.

Criminal Penalties

  • A $250 to $1,000 fine.
  • 48 hours in jail.
  • A driver’s license hardship request fee: $50.

2nd offense within 5 years

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver’s license suspension: 2 years
  • License reinstatement fee: $175.
  • Ignition interlock for restricted driver’s license.
  • Financial responsibility (SR 22) filed for 3 years.

Criminal Penalties

  • A $600 to $1,000 fine.
  • 1 to 5 years in jail.
  • 10 days to 1 year of community service
  • Possible forfeiture of your vehicle.

3rd or subsequent offense within 5 years.

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver’s license suspension: 5 years.
  • License reinstatement fee: $175.
  • Ignition interlock for restricted driver’s license.
  • Financial responsibility (SR 22) filed for 3 years.

Criminal Penalties

  • A $2,000 to $5,000 fine.
  • 1 to 5 years in prison.
  • Forfeiture of your vehicle.

The penalties increase for multiple DUIs and offenses involving accidents, injuries, and deaths.

Contact us today.

Pietrowski Law Firm, PLLC

113 Robins St, Tupelo, MS 38804

Pietrowski Law Firm, PLLC

426 South Lamar Suite 15 in the Anchorage Office Bldg.

© 2018 Pietrowski Law Practice

Oxford: 426 South Lamar Suite 1 inside Anchorage Office Bldg.
Tupelo: 113 Robins Street

pietrowski@lawyer.com
662-841-2692